slr2moons: a self-portrait, of me in my usual habitat: in front of my computer monitors! (Default)
Last weekend was the exception to the new standard for Spicer. I had to give him two doses of the painkiller on Tuesday, but today he seems better. No painkillers needed. I guess Tuesday was a bad day? He isn't nearly as perky as he was over the weekend, but he's definitely better than Tuesday. I have a few more doses of the painkiller for future use. I'm sure I'll need them. *sigh* :|

As for myself, I have more encouraging news. I bought a jump rope a couple weeks back, and I've been using it. First indoors (apologies to my downstairs neighbors, though they moved out on the 31st!), and now outside. I started with 10 jumps inside a few times a day--had to relearn how to jump rope. :B Then I moved outside and did five sets of 25, walking along a short route in between. Now I'm up to 7 sets of 25.

Guys, I already feel better. It's amazing what exercise can do! Jumping rope is an incredibly easy way to increase the intensity of a workout. 20 hops and I'm winded! Seriously! It's not just the obvious of legs and heart, either. Your abs must be held steady to keep your balance, your feet build muscle b/c you're jumping on your toes, your shoulders and arms are worked out swinging that rope around. Who knew little kids (and boxers!) had such a well-kept secret?

I haven't lost any of the weight I've gained, but I know I've reclaimed at least a little of my former muscle. (At least in my feet! Haha!) But I feel so much better, I don't really care about no loss of fat yet. I'm sure it's partially the placebo effect. I know I'm exercising, and that makes me feel happy, on top of the endorphins actually generated by exercising! Whatever, I feel better! Yay! Without drugs! Without tons of caffeine! Yay!!!!
slr2moons: a self-portrait, of me in my usual habitat: in front of my computer monitors! (Default)
I tripped again on that same stretch of road two days ago. Not the exact same place, but close. I'm going to take [profile] lyschan's advice and change my route. I've already plotted one the same length that avoids that particular stretch of road. Bah! And for the record, that second time, I was not half-asleep nor jogging with my eyes closed. I just didn't pick up my feet enough, and down I went. At least I didn't fall as hard or do as much damage to my hands.

Speaking of which, last night my scrapes were itching so much, it woke me up. :B I'm glad I still have a tube of anti-itch cream laying around. Geez.

I won the lottery again at Publisher's Clearing House. Another Amazon gift card, for $5 this time. Wheeee! I can buy 3 or 4 mp3s! Or half a hard-copy book! Or a whole digital book! Or a sixth of a blu-ray movie! My oh my, so many options...

A couple weeks ago, I visited my friend A-chan in Salem, and she took me to an amazing used book store there called Escape Books. It's in a converted house, much like Powell's, only the books are cheaper and that's all they sell. ^^ I definitely want to go back! I picked up a couple manga vols I needed, and two fantasy books because they sounded interesting. That store is amazing and very cute. :3

I was feeling rather down this morning, until I told myself to knock it off and changed my mind from obsessing over things I can't change to what I planned to do today. To my delight, it worked! I felt much better, and spent half an hour on a promised gift pic for my fanfic sempai [personal profile] stariceling. Something in that pic has been bothering me for weeks, and is why I have yet to finish it. I wasn't good enough, damn it! >< I did some moving things around, shifted a character's position, and now it is indeed much better. Of course, now I have to redraw 3/4ths of one character, but it'll be worth it. Yay!

On a work-related note, script for Clay 23 should be arriving any day now. Skip 31 is 100% finished. Natsume 14 will be done in a week, and the BL in two. Things are chugging along nicely!
slr2moons: a self-portrait, of me in my usual habitat: in front of my computer monitors! (Default)
I finally have script for the rest of the BL book and Natsume 14, and after doing math, 13 pages total a day will let me finish both on time with a little buffer for safety. I finished a little early last night, and was on an adrenalin high. I couldn't fall asleep. In fact, the last time I remember looking at the clock before I did finally pass out for good, it was 4:30 AM.

Enter today. I am very tired. And because I didn't run the day before, I had to run today. I took it easy, and things would have been fine, only apparently I wasn't picking my feet up high enough. My left toe caught on a crack in the sidewalk, and down I went. BLAM! At a jog. It took a couple inches of grating on concrete for me to stop. *wince* This happened on the farthest reach of my run, without a shortcut back to my apartment. I had to hoof it, bleeding all the way. Ugh.

Nothing is broken, but I hurt. I lost skin on both my hands, particularly my right knuckles. It looks like I got into a fist fight and bloodied myself. :B I just took my second painkiller of the day.

The kicker? I've almost tripped on that same crack in the sidewalk several times in previous runs, only I've always managed to catch myself before hitting pavement. But being tired today (and jogging with my eyes closed... I was tired and the sun was bright, damn it) slowed my reflexes.

Ow. I bent up my sunglasses, too. I'm amazed I didn't break them, since they were the part of my head that hit the ground first. After that, was my right cheekbone. I'll have a bruise tomorrow. Ow.

I've been chipping away at work, because if I don't keep up I'll pay for it later. I'm over half-way, at least. Back to it!

Hope you all are doing fine. Feel free to drop me a comment/email/text to let me know how you're doing. ^^
slr2moons: a self-portrait, of me in my usual habitat: in front of my computer monitors! (Default)
Today I intended to spend a good 4 or 5 hours writing, but it just didn't happen. On Wednesday, I bumped up my running intensity again. Now I'm at 3 minutes run, 1 walk, for the entire 3.25 mile route. This being the third day, I am wiped out. Blargh.

I also lettered a Skip Page from Hell today, a pink one. With flashbacks.

Behold the Page from Hell, and cower before it in terror! )

(Wow, I AM tired. It took me four tries to type the end lj-cut code.)

Write-in #3 is tomorrow, in a new place. I am excited! Even though I can't figure out why Google Maps driving directions wants me to make a turn around the block to reach the place, when by all appearances and the Google Maps camera, I can just do a left turn right into the place. WTHIDGI. There's a left turn lane, and no no-left-turn sign on the stoplight, and the street isn't one-way. Whatever. I'll figure it out tomorrow.

Everyone, I hope you have more energy than me! And that my Page from Hell write-up wasn't too confusing. ^^